EXETER BOROUGH REGULAR COUNCIL MEETING and REORGANIZATION MEETING

Tuesday January 2, 2024 – 7:00 p.m.

MINUTES

Prior to the start of the January 2024 Regular Council Meeting, Judge Carmody administered the Oath of Office to the newly re-elected Borough Council Members: Lori DeAngelo, Carmen Marranca, John Morgan, and postponed the swearing-in for absent Councilman Joseph Esposito, excused from the 1/2/2024 meeting.

Mayor Denise Adams called the meeting to order, the Pledge of Allegiance was recited, and Borough Manager Amy Huntington conducted the Roll Call:

PRESENT: Mayor Denise Adams, Chairman Joe Pizano, Vice Chairman John Morgan, Council members Lori DeAngelo, Carmen Marranca, Richard Murawski. ZOOM: Councilman Dave Balent and Solicitor Ray Hassey. EXCUSED: Councilman Esposito.

Mayor Adams called for a motion to elect Council Chairman. Motion to elect Joseph Pizano as Council Chairman was made by John Morgan. Seconded by Carmen Marranca. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to elect John Morgan as Vice Chairman, made by Lori DeAngelo, Seconded by Carmen Marranca. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to elect Lori DeAngelo as President Pro Tempore, made by Dave Balent. Seconded by Carmen Marranca. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to appoint Amy Huntington as Borough Manager, made by John Morgan. Seconded by Lori DeAngelo. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to appoint Sharon Sorokin as Secretary, made by John Morgan. Seconded by Carmen Marranca. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to appoint the following Council Committees, made by Dave Balent. Seconded by Lori DeAngelo. Motion passed unanimously.

- Wyoming Area Regional Police: Joe Pizano & Denise Adams, alternate John Morgan.
- Finance: Lori DeAngelo, John Morgan, and Richard Murawski.
- Fire Department: John Morgan, Richard Murawski, and Lori DeAngelo.
- Street/ Recycling Department: Dave Balent, Carmen Marranca, and John Morgan.
- Parks and Recreation: Lori DeAngelo, Carmen Marranca, and Joseph Esposito.
- WVSA: John Morgan
- Zoning: Dave Balent, Richard Murawski, and Lori DeAngelo.
- Hicks Creek: Dave Balent and Richard Murawski.
- Building & Grounds: Richard Murawski & Joseph Esposito
- Council of Governments: Dave Balent
- NEPA Land Bank: Dave Balent or Lori DeAngelo

Motion to appoint Atty. Ray Hassey as Borough Solicitor, made by Lori DeAngelo. Seconded by Carmen Marranca. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to appoint Gene Molino as Borough Zoning/ Planning Solicitor, made by John Morgan. Seconded by Carmen Marranca. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to appoint Cassandra Coleman as Vacancy Board Chairman, made by John Morgan. Seconded by Lori DeAngelo. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to appoint Ron Mruk as the Borough Building/Zoning Code Officer, made by John Morgan. Seconded by Dave Balent. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to appoint BHW as Borough Building/Zoning Code Inspector, made by John Morgan. Seconded by Carmen Marranca. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to appoint Harold Ash, PennEastern Engineers LLC as Borough Engineer, made by Lori DeAngelo. Seconded by John Morgan. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to appoint Rainey & Rainey as Borough Auditors, made by Carmen Marranca. Seconded by John Morgan. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to appoint Steven Egenski as Sewer Enforcement Officer, made by Dave Balent. Seconded by John Morgan. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to appoint Nick Giambra, Mark Casper & Frank Pizano for the Zoning Hearing Board, made by John Morgan. Seconded by Lori DeAngelo. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to appoint Rudy Forlenza, Lindo Sabatini, Carmen Mauriello, Brian Graham, Tony Doblovasky, Dave Balent, Lori DeAngelo, Gene Molino, and Harold Ash to the Exeter Borough Planning Commission, made by Carmen Marranca. Seconded by John Morgan. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to appoint Doug Roberts as Borough Fire Chief, made by John Morgan. Seconded by Lori DeAngelo. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to appoint John Morgan as EMA Director, made by Carmen Marranca. Seconded by Lori DeAngelo. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to appoint Doug Roberts & Ralph Dixon as Assistant EMA Directors, made by John Morgan. Seconded by Lori DeAngelo. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to appoint Dave Balent as the Council of Governments (COG) representative, made by Carmen Marranca. Seconded by John Morgan. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to designate Bank Depositories FNCB Bank, M&T Bank, & PLIGIT, made by John Morgan. Seconded by Carmen Marranca. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to designate the Borough Building and the 1st Tuesday of each month at 7:00pm for Borough Council Meetings and the last Thursday of the month for Planning Commission Meetings as needed, made by Lori DeAngelo. Seconded by John Morgan. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to retain all present Borough employees not covered under collective bargaining agreements, made by John Morgan. Seconded by Lori DeAngelo. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to accept the December 5, 2023 Regular Council Meeting and December 11, 2023 Special Council Meeting minutes, made by John Morgan. Seconded by Carmen Marranca. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to accept the prepaid bills in the amount of \$21.122.29 made by John Morgan. Seconded by Carmen Marranca. Motion passed unanimously.

New Business

Motion to accept the current bills in the amount of \$136,373.42 made by John Morgan. Seconded by Dave Balent. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to accept Ordinance #1-2024 Tax Levy Ordinance, made by John Morgan. Seconded by Lori DeAngelo. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to approve and adopt Ordinance #2-2024 Amendment to Garbage Collection Fees, made by John Morgan. Seconded by Carmen Marranca. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to approve the legal engagement of Hourigan, Kluger & Quinn and Atty. Lars Anderson to defend the unfair Labor Practice filed by Joseph Schlagel and authorize Borough Solicitor Ray Hassey to sign the engagement letter on behalf of Exeter Borough, made by John Morgan. Seconded by Dave Balent. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to hire Michael Dziedzic to Exeter Borough Streets Department full-time position pursuant to the terms of the current I.U.O.E. Local 542 Contract, made by John Morgan. Seconded by Dave Balent. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion made to approve the January Zoning Report read by Lori DeAngelo by John Morgan. Seconded by Carmen Marranca. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to accept the Exeter Hose Co. #1 monthly reports, made by John Morgan. Seconded by Carmen Marranca. Motion passed unanimously.

Wyoming Area Regional Police report was read by Chief Turner.

Open to the Public

Exeter Borough residents including Debbie Evans, 272 Birchwood; Jean Brown, 273 Birchwood; Anne Goble 280 Birchwood; Anne Carite 401 Birchwood; and Janet Brennan, 126 Valley; spoke with concerns about the 2024 trash sticker price increase. Chairman Pizano and Vice Chairman Morgan reported the trash contract prices doubled effective July 1, 2023 and the lowest bid was accepted for the new contract; they also explained Borough Council voted to keep price as low as possible, continue the senior citizen discount, and offer a credit card payment option to assist with the increased costs.

Richard Murawski made a motion to adjourn at 7:55pm. Seconded by John Morgan. Motion passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted by Amy Huntington and Sharon Sorokin, 2/5/2024.